Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What causes "balance"?

Riding in Oregon requires a lot of time on the rollers in the off-season. I ride before i start teaching (HS Biology teacher) in the gym of our high school. The physics teacher asked me to come into his class and ride the rollers so he could help explain rotational inertia to his class. Pretty Cool I thought.

I know that the rotational inertia of the wheels is what keeps the bike upright while riding on the rollers, but I wanted to know if there are any other factors keeping you upright while riding on a road. Hypothetically speaking, if we get our wheel weight down to 150g, would it be harder to ride in a straight line?

Very curious,
Doug

·
hi, I'm Larry
2,254 Posts
Yes, gyroscopic forces would be lower

I forget all the formulas (I'm an old forgetful engineer). But gyroscopic forces are one of the factors that keep a bicycle upright. The lower the rotational mass (weight) of the wheel the lower the gyroscopic forces. I believe the mass factor is linear. If you cut the mass in half the gyroscopic effect would be a half. It is the major reason a bicycle is unstable at low speeds and does not get stable until you are spinning a bit.

The other factors are turning the front wheel and where you have your bodys center of gravity in relationship to the bike (balance).

If you can rig up a bicycle wheel with handles on either side this makes for a great demonstration. Have the student sit in a swivel chair and the spin the wheel up while they are holding it perpendicular to the ground. You can pivot the chair right and left by tilting the wheel side to side. You can steer the chair using the wheel. More of a demo for gyroscopic effects than rotational mass but pretty cool if you are a tecky sort. You get to feel the force relationships versus looking at arrow and formulas on the board.

·
Registered
33 Posts