Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have the elite triple 52 42 30 triple. I am thinking about a compact double and new wheels. I live in Ct, lots of hills Is it worth the cost of the switch? How much do I loose in the low gears? I can not stay in my middle ring on steep hills. I am new to road biking. I notice people with doubles do less shifting. The LBS tells me keep thr triple and invest in new wheels.

·
Registered
169 Posts
sheps58 said:
I have the elite triple 52 42 30 triple. I am thinking about a compact double and new wheels. I live in Ct, lots of hills Is it worth the cost of the switch? How much do I loose in the low gears? I can not stay in my middle ring on steep hills. I am new to road biking. I notice people with doubles do less shifting. The LBS tells me keep thr triple and invest in new wheels.

If you have to use the small ring to climb steep hills,I don't know why you'd even consider getting rid of the triple. Your LBS is spot on . Keep the triple and upgrade your wheelset.The people you've noticed who do less shifting with doubles are simply much stronger riders.As you get stronger ,you may not use the small ring as much, but it'll always be there just in case.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Triple

sheps58 said:
Keep the triple, on recovery rides it is great knowing it is there, I am not sold on the compact crank at this time, to me you loose on the top end going from a 53 to a 50, also as a new cyclist, the 42 middle is great gearing for easy spinning. I like to ride a high cadence, the triple will give you more range for now.

anyone agree?

-DK

·
Registered
949 Posts
Yeah... I'll second most of those statements

I haven't ridden a compact crank but I have done doubles and triples...