Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I keep see references to rule numbers. Sorry for my ignorance. I've been riding for 43 years but never got the list of rules. Can someone p.ease point me in the direction I might find this list of rules?
Thanks very much.

·
Registered
5,062 Posts
I constantly break many of these rules. sometimes I even do it intentionally.

The most glaring rule breaking I do is totell people it's about the engine, not the bike. Killing rule #4 dead in it's tracks as I pass that $5000 carbon wonder on my $1000 entry level rig in a kit that isn't even close to matching..........................

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, thanks a lot for the link to the rules. Unfortunately I am going to have to sell my bike because after all these years I found out I'm a douche.
Nice riding with you all.

Just kidding.

·
Banned
941 Posts
The person who wrote these rules was spot on on many issues, pretty close on other, but at the same time they got some totally wrong.

For me the most glaring miss was the CO2 bit. In reality, using CO2 pumps is completely unacceptable (read: you can use them as long as no one knows about it). The tires should be inflated by hand-pumps only: either a floor pump or a mini pump. No CO2 allowed under any circumstances. If you ever get caught using a CO2 pump in public make sure you never touch a bike again. Switch to skateboarding or, better, figure skating.

Contrary to what another bogus rule says, the mini pump shall always be carried in the open on the left-hand side of the downtube, sharing the mounting points with the primary bottle cage.

Finally, the less mainstream the brand of your mini pump is - the better.

·
Burnum Upus Quadricepus
2,017 Posts
My favorite is rule nine.

I work in a library--an occupation not normally associated with badassness or hardmen. Plus, I have definite Fred tenancies. :eek: