Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Get me to In&Out
4,775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone have advice on what to wear in the winter? I run three times a week in Asics Nimbus shoes mostly on the road but about a mile on a trail. Live in Germany where I get infrequent snow, but the trail stays pretty sloppy most of the winter. Looking for something waterproof, and not as much mesh as my Nimbus. Temps will be around 30F when I am running. Salomon has some decent looking shoes with Goretex, but I have zero experience with the fit and durability of their shoes. Any runners care to give some advice?

·
Registered
671 Posts
As has been said, there's not a perfect answer. If you wear Gore-tex lined running shoes they'll fill with sweat and stench or rainwater or both and they never drain. Even if it's raining the rain will run down your legs and fill the shoes. At least a normal shoe lets the water squish out after you clear the puddles. I would buy a shoe with synthetic leather and not as much mesh. Then a pair of carefully chosen socks to keep your feet warm enough.

(Gore-Tex shoes are great for walking in wet grass)

I'll share a tip for running in those conditions: when you get finished, rinse the shoes thoroughly. If they're partly wet make them fully wet. Let them drip for a couple minutes then stuff half of an old towel inside the shoe and wrap the other half around the outside. Next squeeze the bundle (I like to walk on it with bare feet) to squeeze all water into the towel. The shoe should now be slightly damp and will air dry by the following day. The shoes will not pick up a foul odor because you're cleaning the organic matter out of them.

David

·
Short legs spinnin' fast
254 Posts