Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using Runtastic Road Pro for about 4 - 5 months to track my ride statistics. I was using this with a Blu Advance phone running android OS version 4.4.2

It seemed to be working just fine then I had to switch phones due to a boot problem with the original phone. The new phone is the same model and brand as the original phone so I reloaded the Runtastic Road Pro app on the new phone. However when I started using it I quickly discovered the phone app and the tracking pages on their web site seemed to be displaying the resulting ride data inaccurately. When I go on a ride and look at the tracked data at the end of the ride on the phone or on the activity page on the Runtastic web site, the total elapsed mileage for the ride was 1/2 of what it should be. I.E. if I went on a 12 mile bike ride the mileage displayed in the app on the phone and in the ride statistics page on the web site would only show I had gone 6 miles and the average speed over the course of the ride would be half of what it should be (i.e. 7.5MPH versus the correct average speed over the ride of 15MPH). The weird thing was the resulting ride maps would show the correct route for the ride.

So I had the same exact results over several rides and stopped using the app at all because I was convinced that the GPS on the new phone was at fault. Then today I decided to join Strava and load that app on my phone. However before switching over I took a ride and used the Runtastic Road app again to see if the results were the same. They were. For a 12 mile bike ride it showed I only went 6 miles and the average speed was half of what it should be.