Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there

Im having some questions about my saddle height.
Every source of info says "Your heel should touch the pedal with your leg straight"

If i do this the saddle is pretty low,i feel to loose power and the front of knee distrurbs me a little.

If i put it a bit higher feels a lot better,ive done 3.000 km effortlessly at this height,yet i can barely touch the pedal with my heel,even if i tilt my pelvis enough( though it mustnt),nor i can touch the ground seated,as many cyclists ive seen doing.

Nevertheless i cannot sustain really great distances max 80km per ride with my current setup.(Frame spece'd according competitive cyclist fitting program)

Are these normal?Am i missing smthng?

·
Registered
394 Posts
I'm new to road cycling so I'm still working with my seat height. However from your description your seat height sounds fine. You'll probably need to make some small adjustments as you put in more miles.

At first I set my saddle height by using the .883 x inseam length method. This gave me a 69.5cm saddle height but it was just to low and made my thighs feel fatigued without working my glutes and ham strings. I slowly raised my seat little by little until I made it up to 73cm which felt to high. I settled back to 72.5cm which feels perfect.

At 3,000km you've put in a lot more riding than I have. I have been finding that diet and pacing yourself makes a huge different for endurance riding.

·
Registered
3,935 Posts
Its a starting point not an absolute. How much you ankle / you are toe down at the bottom of the stroke when riding obviously makes a difference in how well that heel touching the pedal at the bottom will predict saddle height.