Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This year I've become serious about biking and racing and ride at least 5 days a week -- dropped 15 lbs and have done pretty well in the early races. Today when I started I noticed some discomfort on my left ass crease but after 20 minutes of warming up and shifting around managed to forget about it. After my shower I decided to check it out and assume I have started what would be called a saddle sore. Irritated skin sort of welted up but not oozing or really broken skin -- discolored though. While I'm no pro racer and my career far from relies on riding it would be a huge set back mentally and physically if I have to give up what I have going. Can anyone tell me what the best mode of action is to heal this, stop this, and continue riding??? I am still able to ride without question, just don't want it to get out of hand. I'm wondering if neosporing and tegaderm is OK vs. gold-bond or anti-fungal powder and keeping it dry??? Race this weekend and century coming up in a month or 2 so need to nip this in the bud asap.:(

·
Registered
173 Posts
I've only had a few serious saddle sores, and each time I've stayed out of the saddle until the tissue healed a bit. That doesn't seem to be an option for you right now and I don't claim to have good advice about getting over the sore. I can, however, offer a suggestion about avoiding the sores in the first place. I noticed that the last two times I experienced a saddle sore were right after returning from plane flights which required that I remove my saddle to fit in my bike box. Apparently, I wasn't setting my saddle in exactly the same set up that I was accustomed to and the result was a saddle sore. Making proper adjustments has always solved the problem in the past. Adjustments aside, you may find relief from chamois cream. Good Luck.

·
Registered
4,452 Posts