Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Do not touch the trim.
2,381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been running Vittoria Open Corsa CX's in a 25 for the last four years. Decided to try something new as Corsa's have been discontinued and wasn't really digging the skinwall look of the new Vittorias. Read some good things about the Schwalbes and the rolling resistance spiel on that website. Mounted them up and went for a ride, got about two blocks from my house and turned around thinking I had somehow put too much air in them (always ran 85 psi in the Vittorias). Checked on my nice Lezyne pump that I always use on road tires, right at 85 psi, hmmm. went back out, wow these things feel like $20.00 crap training tires compared to the Vittorias. Just to make sure I checked that I didn't get the tubeless ones by mistake. Fooled around with air pressure when I got home, tried them even lower than I'm comfortable with to not get a pinch flat and they still felt like a cheap, stiff training tire. Live and learn I guess.

·
a real member's member
3,880 Posts
... these things feel like $20.00 crap training tires compared to the Vittorias.
well, they are $19.99 at Jenson.

but good for you to branch out and try something different. it doesn't always work out.

the nice thing about flipping bikes and components is you can try out stuff and sell the things that don't work out.

·
Registered
429 Posts
My suspicion is that most of the positive reviews you saw for them were probably for the tubeless version of the tire. I'm not sure what changes Schwalbe makes for their clincher vs. tubeless tires, but taking what is essentially designed to be a tubeless tire and simply adapting it for non-tubeless use (instead of a complete redesign) will probably result in a rather stiff tire. Most tubeless tires out there have no tubed version equivalent- probably for a good reason.

·
Adorable Furry Hombre
30,946 Posts