Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought my first road bike and it should be here in about a week. So I have a week to get my "road kit" ready so I can hit the ground rolling, so to speak.:) I'm a total newbie but I'm digesting everything I can here on the forum and I've got a couple of books from the library too. I'm wondering what gear you, the every day cyclist, take on a ride. Here's my list so far, and the questions I have about a particular item too:

1) Bike shorts - are these all about the same? I've seen them range from $25 to $100, plus there are bibs too and I'm not sure what the benefit of a bib is over just shorts. Maybe I want to look like I'm still wrestling?;)

2) Jersey - the same here about the price. I may just ride in a tight t-shirt although aerodynamically that's probably pretty dumb.

3) Pump - should I get the kind that attaches to the frame or a small cannister type thingee (technical term)?

4) Tubes - 2 should be enough, right?

5) Something to get the tire off, like a special tool of some sort. I've seen the all-in-one tools that are small enough to fit in a small saddle bag. Should this suffice?

6) A couple cages and water bottles. Are all cages about the same? I've seen some gold plated, and some bronze plated, and I'm wondering if that's just a cosmetic thing or do some of the cages actually break down and leave marks on the frame from oxidation or whatever might break down the finish?

7) Shoes - the prices really run the gamut here. I'd just like a good, reliable shoe. Not the cheapest, and not the most expensive. Just a good, functional shoe. Any recommendations?