Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding for about 2 years now and racing some for 2 seasons (~14 races - mostly crits) and really need some advice on how to get over my current hump.
A little background, I am male, 26, very athletic all my life, 170lbs, 5'10", ~9% body fat, maxHR ~200-205, LTHR ~177-182.
I ride around 150 miles per week in 3-4 rides:
Typical week:
Day 1) Hill repeats (4-6 repeats, 30 miles)
Day 2) Short Fast (30-40 miles)
Day 3) Long Hard (60-100miles)
Day 4) LSD

Now the problem, I am strong, fast and feel fit, but i can never hang with the pack. I always start towards the front and slowly fall back through the pack until towards the end of a Cat4 crit (usually on a prime lap or after it) my HR just goes north of my LTHR and won't come back down and i blow up. Case in point, my last crit my HR avg was 184, my max was 198 - which was when i blew and sat up. That was about 40 minutes into the race.
I know i have to be faster and stronger than a number of those riders that do hang on, but i can't seem to make it. What's the deal? Can anyone help me, I am getting very frustrated and am starting to feel like giving up.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Going from the little leagues to the BIG leagues

I am also in that kind of boat at the moment as well but after I look back things I see where I have come from.

Background: male, 26, very athletic, 195lbs, 6'7", 4% body fat in 2004 (215lbs), maxHR ~205-210

I spent this whole season in Category C collegiate and Category 5 races (13 races total) trying to gain endurance after a full mountain bike season in the fall. I noticed I was much stronger in the mountain bike season this year than the last and was able to move up to Cat. B in mountain biking and do 15-18 mile races and beat a few people. :eek: