Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am scheduled to be fit for a new bike using the Serotta fitting bike.Has anyone used this method before and were you happy with the results.

·
Registered
442 Posts
I had one...

...done a couple of years ago down in Florida. I was getting ready to order a new bike and just wanted to check to see if I was doing anything I should be doing. Keep in mind that I have been riding a roadbike for 17 years now. The results of the fitting were good as the spec's showed that my position was similar to what the fitting suggested. One thing to keep in mind is that every fitter has their own ideas about bike fit. For example, the guy who fit me told me he always puts everyone's knee 1.5cm behind the pedal spindle (i.e., K.O.P.S) and the seat at the upper-limit. While you are getting fitted, I would suggest being an active participant in order to get a good fit; you are paying for it after all. If the fitter has the seat set at a certain position and it does not feel "right," then tell him or her. Also, I like to challenge some of the decisions. For example, if the fitter has a pretty good seat to handle bar drop, then ask why such a drop is necessary when you will not be racing.

·
Miggity Mac Daddy
51 Posts
Yeah, its great. Adjustable everything so you can basically find your correct measurments, and feel them. Adjustable seat tube angle, st lenght, TT lenght, stem length and Height.

In reality, its not the size cycle that fits you, it is merely a tool. The person doing the fitting is the one who "makes all the magic happen."

·
Registered
6 Posts
I thought it was deffinitally worth it

I was fitted using the Serotta fitting system about a year ago when I bought my first road bike, and then had it done again resently as I have become more flexible and comfortable on a road bike since then.