Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any experience with Shinano 2300 stuff? I am thinking of getting a Specialized Allez Steel, which comes with 2300 and wanted to hear some testimonials about the drivetrain.
Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
152 Posts
It's cheaper than Sora, and Sora pisses me off.

For that price and wanting steel, you might not do much better. But, I'd expect it to be absolute carp, but I could be really wrong. There's at least one guy on a group ride who rides that bike, so it can't be so frustrating as to not be usable.

·
Registered
1 Posts
it worked well for me but i had buyers remorse as soon as i had some miles on the bike. i just didnt feel comfortable when i had to shift when sprinting or doing hills. i got a new bike with 105 as soon as i started riding in groups.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Downtube shifters aren't for everyone, but the 2300 shifted clean enough while I had it on my steel Allez. I think I rode the bike for about a month before upgrading to DA w/ downtube shifters. Just couldn't put STI on the bike :)

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,420 Posts
philoanna said:
Does anyone have any experience with Shinano 2300 stuff? I am thinking of getting a Specialized Allez Steel, which comes with 2300 and wanted to hear some testimonials about the drivetrain.
Thanks for your time.

If you ride your bike once a week, it's good enough.......Maybe even twice, if you only go on 20 mile rides.

·
Registered
7,438 Posts
The issue is the difference between "good enough" and enjoyable. Personally, I would avoid a bike without STI shifters.

·
Banned
1,317 Posts
its the lowest of the low end... take that for what its worth. It should work, though i've never ridden it. I did ride Shimano's lowest end MTB stuff and it didn't work, lbs couldn't fix either. Sold it.

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
nealric said: