Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
I ordered the Motobecane Mirage SL which comes with Claris shifters, derailleurs, and brake levers. Should be here Thursday and I'll be doing a lot of riding this weekend. I'm a noob but I'll give you my first impressions after I've put a few miles on it.

·
Carbon Fiber = Explode!
3,438 Posts
It's been 2 months. I don't think he made it back to the forum xD

·
Registered
1 Posts
I bought a 2014 Specialized Tricross that came with Claris. I'm returning to cycling after nearly 2 years off. I've ridden Sora, Tiagra, and Ultegra. Of those three I liked Tiagra the best for it's no nonsense performance.
Now the Claris has so far exceeded my expectations. It hits every shift with a positive engagement. The hoods are very comfortable when riding up top. When in the drops the levers are perfectly placed so I dont have to stretch to reach them. The rear derailleur is amazing, really love it. The front derailleur is way better than Sora ever was, even has trim positions ( something not usually found on entry level ). The crankset is ramped and pinned to work flawlessly with the derailleur.
I'm very satisfied with this groupset and give Shimano 5 stars for taking the entry level price point seriously.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Worked with it in my shop alot in the last few months. Its a solid group, very similar in feel and performance to the old Tiagra except 8spd. Same hood shape, same routing, bit heavier if anything, but not bad for the money. Better than the lame thumb button.

·
Tonkabaydog
109 Posts