Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking into these and wondering if anyone has input on the quality. Are they stiff for a heavier rider (190-200) with the spoke count they have? These would be used for daily riding flats mountains and everything in between. Thoughts?

·
Registered
324 Posts
Look around the forum and you'll find quite a bit of talk about them.

I can sum up a lot of what's been said in the following:
Low spoke count for your weight (I weigh roughly the same as you)
Proprietary spokes - pain the a&& to obtain and replace when needed - wheels have to be sent out - must buy a set from Shimano unless your lbs stocks them.
I have read about break track problems - just google this one to see

The positives are the hubs and skewers - most tend to agree on these points from what I have read.
I have no first hand experience with them - but did research these ones quite a bit when looking for new wheels - they were on a short list.
I think Shimano may be releasing new wheels @ the tour or some point son - you may want to hold off and see what is coming down the line.

·
Registered
829 Posts
I have a set of the Shimano RS80 C50 wheels, basically the same wheel with an Ultegra hub instead of Dura Ace hub.

I am 200-210 lbs and they are installed on a Fuji Altamira.

I broke a spoke about 50 miles into the first use. Shimano offered to repair the wheels under warranty. Instead to speed things up, shipped 5 spokes and nipples to my LBS and I paid $30 to have the wheel repaired, rebuilt. 5000 miles later they have been fine. Never needing any service