Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. Im thinking about buying new shoes but Im having the problem of finding a double wide pair. I have high arches and it tends to make my shoe sizes on the wide side of things.

During my rides... I am finding that outside edge of my foot is getting numb and Im thinking its the width of the shoe. (I tried loosening and foot adjusting but once I hit 20+ miles... it goes numb).

Any suggestions out there?

·
Cranky Old Bastard
2,337 Posts
Road or Mountain? Cheap or Expensive?

I found some $70 mountain shoes that fit my wide/high-arch feet better than any I've had before.

·
wrm
72 Posts
Curious that you didn't mention your actual foot size and width ? Just saying it would be easier to make any useful recommendation. However, with that said, the outside of the foot/feet ? Smells like a wedge issue. As a long time cyclist I graduated from toeclips/straps to clipless in the late 1980's and developed this same symptom. Clipless hold your foot in a much different way and wedges are often required.

Your Mileage May Vary.

Bill

·
Registered
879 Posts
I also use Sidi Genius Megas (most of my shoes are EEE, I have a high arch, high instep, and need a wide toe box, but my heel is normal).

My podiatrist recommended a commercial orthotic footbed, Aetrex, that I use (they have various types, for flat feet, high arches, etc.). The podiatrist wrote down the specific features that I needed. The footbed supplied by Sidi (at least in my shoes) was crummy, I think that everyone should replace it with a quality insert. I don't think Sidi really intends people to use it, but instead expect people to buy the footbed or insert that they need.

My feet are comfy, and the footbed eliminated the numbness in my toes that I was experiencing.

-----------------

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·