Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So here's the issue. I'm new to cycling and to put it plainly.. my butt hurts after riding.

Yeah, I know, It's a common thing.. rite of passage.. etc. However, currently I'm riding a Selle Itale Initiale saddle and Louis Garneau Shark Power tri shorts.

Not exactly bread with butter for a beginner. So I ask, Do you reccommend I buy more cushy shorts, or a presumably better saddle? I'm not real sure the saddle is the problem, rather the shorts have a thin layer of fleece like "padding". For my tri, it won't be a problem because it's a sprint tri, so a 15 mile bike ride. However, it makes it difficult to train if it's constantly hurting all the time.

Let me know what you think, I'm trying to stay in the 50-150$ range for whatever I choose to do.

·
Registered
3,863 Posts
Both... try to find a comfi saddle first then quality shorts or bibs. I like Voler bibs/shorts or Performance Elite's. The saddle is the most important, the shorts are the frosting on the cake.

You can sign up to be a Voler Team member and receive discounts not available to the general public. I've bought bibs for under $30.00. http://www.velowear.com /

·
Registered
14,776 Posts
more specifics, please.

Not trying to be kinky, here, but how and where does your butt hurt? Is it the sitbones, chafing in the middle or on the sides, etc. And does it hurt immediately when you start riding, or only after a long time. And how much have you ridden? How many rides, and how long, and with what rest periods in between? You could have typical soreness from getting used to riding (and that will go away with more saddle time), or you could have a saddle that doesn't suit your shape and riding position (You may not need a "better" saddle -- just a different one).

The saddle shape usually has far more effect on these issues than the shorts do.

·
fifth time's a charm
1,805 Posts