Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm 35 and been riding for almost two years now. I wear a monitor on hard rides, It gives me my average and max. When I started riding I had a max of 220 with an average of 190. I thought that was high and decided it was due to me being out of shape and would go down as my fitness progressed. Now a year and a half later I 've had 222 max with a 198 average. Is this something to be worry about? Again I'm 35 and this high rate concerns me. I have done the search and not found anything similar to my rates so thanks in advance.

·
Registered
49 Posts
andrewski said:
I'm 35 and been riding for almost two years now. I wear a monitor on hard rides, It gives me my average and max. When I started riding I had a max of 220 with an average of 190. I thought that was high and decided it was due to me being out of shape and would go down as my fitness progressed. Now a year and a half later I 've had 222 max with a 198 average. Is this something to be worry about? Again I'm 35 and this high rate concerns me. I have done the search and not found anything similar to my rates so thanks in advance.
Yes, see your cardiologist...seems too high to me.

·
Registered
93 Posts
I would check that the heart monitor your using is functioning correctly. I had problems with my polar monitor when i first began using it ,it wasnt making a good enough contact and the numbers were jumping all over.
Then go call your doctor for a checkup.

G

·
I've got a max of about 217 and I have seen nearly 200 average for an hour crit. It's not necessarily normal, but there is no harm to it. I've gone to get it checked out by a doctor and she said as long as I'm not passing out, to not worry about it.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·