Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
TAPTAP..Is this thing on?
316 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So about a week ago I almost got run over by a FedEx truck and had to jump a 5 inch curb at around 25 mph, didn't get the rear wheel over completely and ended up with a complete blow out of my tube and an almost new Conti Gatorskin. The rim didn't appear to take much damage, but to be honest I didn't put a lot of looking into it as that I recently built a new set and just swapped those on. Anyways before my ride today I noticed something that may be alarming as I had the bike on the stand. I'm still a newb when it comes to wrenching, but I'm assuming that this isn't good.

Is my chainstay f*#ked? Assuming it is, is it safe to ride until I get a new frame/bike?

Thanks.

·
classiquesklassieker
3,106 Posts
So about a week ago I almost got run over by a FedEx truck and had to jump a 5 inch curb at around 25 mph, didn't get the rear wheel over completely and ended up with a complete blow out of my tube and an almost new Conti Gatorskin. The rim didn't appear to take much damage, but to be honest I didn't put a lot of looking into it as that I recently built a new set and just swapped those on. Anyways before my ride today I noticed something that may be alarming as I had the bike on the stand. I'm still a newb when it comes to wrenching, but I'm assuming that this isn't good.

Is my chainstay f*#ked? Assuming it is, is it safe to ride until I get a new frame/bike?

Thanks.
Shouldn't you be asking a reputable bike shop for an assessment, and shouldn't you be asking FedEx to take responsibility?

·
316 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Shouldn't you be asking a reputable bike shop for an assessment, and shouldn't you be asking FedEx to take responsibility?