Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
andydave
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my current bike for 3 years and have about 12K on it. Should I consider changing cables and housings for brakes and derailleurs? Are there any good rules of thumb for this type of maintenance? Or, since I'm not having any troubles, should I just leave it alone.

·
Say "nuke-u-lar"
453 Posts
Maybe you can't tell the difference, so why bother? I'm serious, if you have no noticeable degradation in braking or shifting, don't bother...understandable if you never ride in adverse conditions, admirable if your setup still works after doing so. If you just want to find out, do it, it's not rocket science.

·
Big is relative
11,887 Posts
The shifting and braking could have gotten rougher over a long period of time and you wouldn't notice it until you swapped them out. It is the beginning of the season, treat yourself to a new set of cables and housings. New handlebar tape as well. Give your bike a thorough cleaning and lube everything, it will be like a new bike.

·
Registered
234 Posts
I don't consider cables and housing to be disposables, at least...

not in the short term. I consider them to be "maintenance items". I do all of the things a good bike shop's "tune up" would do at least once a year, more so on my winter mountain bike. Many riders don't do much work on their bikes, and some that do only do it when something comes up. Maintenance isn't at the top of everyone's list.

My dime: pull the cables, wipe em clean, and if they are sound, relube big time and stick em back in the housings. If you are really picky you can run the cable back into the housing a few times to get as much gunk out as you can, then give a final wipe and lube. At some point, you will need to sacrifice the c and h, but not today.

andydave said: