Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm a 16-yr old sophomore in high school here in Birmingham, Alabama. Being utterly obsessed with cycling, I would really like to start commuting to and from school, seeing as my other commitments leave me little time to actually ride on the weekends. My commute is around 15 miles one way, depending on the route--there is one big downhill no matter what route (into downtown), and one slight uphill no matter what route. I figure it'll take me just about 1 hour if I'm moving at a decent pace.
My main problem is the issue of carrying school stuff. On any given day, I might have to carry a textbook or two, a few notebooks, and increasingly more often, my laptop. I could leave the laptop locked up in school some days, and use study halls to do more homework during school, but I need a bag that will allow me to take stuff comfortably and without having to replace a bag every few weeks. I've tried backpacks (back pain, bounce around a lot), panniers (old beater bike, didn't enjoy the cumbersome-ness and laid the bike over in several sharp turns), and messenger bags (dep't store buys, ripped up within a month and not comfy). What do you commuters and messengers out there use? I need something comfy and that won't bounce around too much, and still be able to fit a laptop, a few books, and a spare change of clothes.
Also, anyone that commutes to/from school, any tips? I'm riding my '05 Specialized Allez Sport Triple, sans fenders but w/ lights.

Ride on,
Aron

·
Registered
8,047 Posts
I don't know how panniers had anything to do with your crashes- I use ONE generally, and have never had a problem. It is amazing how much I can stuff in one. I don't trust my laptop in the pannier, nor do I think it would fit, so I use a backpack laptop bag. I swore i would never bike with a backpack again, but it makes sense for me.