Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new frame, new SRAM Force Gruppo and everything else needed to build up a new bike. My only problem is I've never done this before. I'm mechanically inclined and do all my own work on my motorcycles and cars, but I'm apprehensive about attempting this myself. On the one hand, I know if I did this myself I would become more proficient at maintenance. On the other, there is a possibility I could jack this up and still end up dragging the bike to the LBS to have them do it right. I guess I'm just unsure of the level of difficulty this entails.

Thoughts?

·
More carbon fiber please!
791 Posts
Do it. If you have problems ask away on here, or go elsewhere like the Park Tools site for help. I do everything myself on the bikes. It gives you a better insight into how things work plus the pride of knowing you did it yourself. If worse comes to worse, take it to a good shop for help.

·
Registered
47 Posts
I agree. I started learning about bike maintenance by doing things myself. There are definitely times that people bring things into the shop that they tried to do themselves, and it's a mess, but I always remind myself that it's not like I was born knowing how to work on bikes.

·
Registered
5,234 Posts
If you're inexperienced with bikes, get a torque wrench. With really little values - stuff is in inch-pounds.

With some experience, you may not use it much. But the torques for things on bikes are shocking low a lot of the time, and occasionally quite high. If you can work on cars and motorcycles, though, you can work on a bike.

You may need shop help with facing the head tube and bottom bracket, and depending on how the frame was painted (and what kind of bottom bracket it's for) you may want the threads chased.

·
Registered
333 Posts