Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Riders,

I'm a regular rider, 2-3 rides a week usually including a group ride.

I've been riding and building my own bikes for the past 4 years. My current ride is a custom built aluminum frame with 105 group set and Mavic CXP 22 wheelset. It weighs about 19 lbs.

I typically average around 20-25km/h speeds during my rides, sometimes faster, sometimes slower depending on the day. I don't have trouble keeping up with my group but would like to advance to the more serious racers this summer.

I'm eyeing a set of Mavic Kysrium's in hopes they will help me on those hill climbs and make me a little faster in the flats.

I'm a muscular guy, 5'9 and 175 pounds.

Is upgrading to the Kysrium's going to really help or is it better to just keep muscling it out and gain some better technique or just dropping some weight?

I hate throwing money at something not needed.

Thanks!

·
Adventure Seeker
5,115 Posts
Those wheels will do one thing for sure - make your bike look better. As for performance and speed, you won't be any faster save a placebo effect. Newer wheels can bring excitement and make you push harder, so that'll make you faster.

·
Premium Member
2,714 Posts
A nice wheel for your weight and use would be something in the 1500-1700 gram range that balances durability with responsiveness.

You are not listing the specifics of your CXP 22s so I can't comment any further.

·
Registered
2,597 Posts
I had cxp's and they developed a crack in them after around 6 thousand miles. I replaced them with some Kysriums and wow, it was a nice change. There's a mountain descent near my house that has many curves. The Kysriums were faster, enough to notice a clear difference just descending down the road. Your plan is good, those wheels are nice.

·
A wheelist
11,324 Posts