Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm a newbie and was wondering should I just keep the stock petals on my 2006 trek 1000 or should start my new life of cycling with some clip petals. My worry is since I haven't been on a bike in a long time, I might not be able to have smooth entry/exit with clip petals. Any advice would be great!!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hey Jessica,

First off, I hope you like your new bike! Now, about your question-I would reccomend upgrading to a pair of clipless pedals. You will get much better power transfer, and be able to have a better spin. I would get look pedals, since they are generally easy to get in and out of(mine are anyway).

Hope this helps,
Jake

By the way-"clip" pedals are actually called clipless ;)

·
Banned
6,360 Posts
Probably not the first thing to do...

I ride with old-fashioned pedals with toe clips and with clipless pedals about equally, and at least for me, there's no difference in performance. I've probably done my commute (25 mile round trip) at least 200 times each way, and the pedals I use make NO difference at all. I've done centuries both ways, and there's no change in speed, comfort or how tired I get.
I'm not saying clipless don't help--if they didn't, the pros wouldn't race in them. But for a new rider, it's one more thing to worry about, plus you'd be concerned about falling, plus you need new shoes and cleats and you have to install and adust them. It won't hurt anything to ride with what you have until you're comfortable on the bike, and meanwhile you can talk to friends about their favorite pedal-shoe combinations and make an informed choice.

·
Moderatus Puisne
15,882 Posts
Like flower petals?

:)