Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to road biking and I find my handlebars too narrow. I have an extra small frame due to my short legs and the bike came with a 38cm handlebar. My shoulders roughly measure roughly 42cm. My shoulders, elbows ache after just 1 1/2 hr ride. I am used to riding much longer with my MT bike without aches. Should I buy bigger? How big?

·
Registered
21,832 Posts
Shoulder width

MTBC2008 said:
I am new to road biking and I find my handlebars too narrow. I have an extra small frame due to my short legs and the bike came with a 38cm handlebar. My shoulders roughly measure roughly 42cm. My shoulders, elbows ache after just 1 1/2 hr ride. I am used to riding much longer with my MT bike without aches. Should I buy bigger? How big?
The nominal guideline is that the bars should be the same width as the bony protrusions at the tips of your shoulders. There's personal preference variability, but that's a good starting point.

·
Banned
6,492 Posts
Be suspicious of ironclad rules.

MTBC2008 said:
Thanks!!! I will order one tonight!
You MAY need a 42cm bar, but those one-size-fits-all decrees should be regarded with suspicion. By most standards, I should ride a 46, but I ordered a 50cm tandem stoker bar for my singlespeed, and I liked it so much I ordered another one for my Atlantis. Anything smaller than that feels cramped to me now. This may be one of those times when it's best to buy from a bike shop, where you at least can hold the thing in your hands before you buy. Once you install it and put the levers etc. on it, few online retailers will take it back.

·
Registered
8,252 Posts
Several things: