Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it just me (I doubt it), or has anyone else ever noticed that their sit bones never line up anywhere close to the actual padding in shorts? Why would I want extra padding in the center of the short anyway, where it could just add to the material that pushes into the nerves and arteries?

I've been biking for about thirty years now and I have never had a pair of shorts with good padding that is actually located under the sit bones. I always wear out, and sit hardest, on the edge of the pads. As far as I know, manufacturers use one pad size for all their short sizes, so I don't know how most people could possibly get a good pad placement.

Does anyone have a pair of shorts with an amazing pad that fits any better?

Here's a pic of the spot where my sit bones always hit on the shorts. (where my thumb is)

Comfort Joint Black Active pants

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
Maybe try some different brands/models of shorts? I don't that problem. Different shorts have different shapes of chamois.

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
I have experienced this. For me, unfortunately, it's particularly challenging with some of the the higher end brands. I shredded two Assos Cento chamois' because they just hit me in the wrong place (fit was fine).

The older Assos Mille fits me fine, as does the pair of Rapha I have. Oddly, I have a few pairs of less expensive bibs of various brands (performance, nashbar, novara, etc...) and the chamois pad is fine. The problem I usually have with these cheaper brands is the chamois doesn't work well in the thigh crease area and I end up chaffing with them.

The lesson I learned is, to try them on (if at all possible), or buy them from a retailer with a generous return policy.

·
Banned Sock Puppet
14,411 Posts
......the chamois doesn't work well in the thigh crease area and I end up chaffing with them.