Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· (not a real racer)
484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How would a wheel with 130mm hub spacing work in a bike frame that has 120mm spaced wheels now? If the frame is aluminium are there any safety issues with stretching the forks and frame an additional 10mm to accommodate the new wheels?

thanks

· Registered
232 Posts
Track frames are currently 120mm, old 5 speed hubed frames are 120mm, but a Trek 1400 is almost certainly 126mm (common for older 6 and 7 speed)

You should be able to squeeze a 130mm hub in there without any "cold setting"

· Registered
232 Posts
Yep, that would be the answer from his lawyer

I've seen plenty of older 126mm frames use 130mm spaced hubs...including aluminum. But it is at your own risk (in 8 years of being a bicycle mechanic I never once saw an aluminum frame fail from this).

Its 4mm...that's less than the space "mm" occupies on your screen

· (not a real racer)
484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I think I'm gonna lace up a pair of 126mm hubs or something. It's for the wife's bike so I don't really don't want any safety issues with it. Yeah I know the odds are slim to none but at least I get to brush up on my spoke lacing now.

Now where can I get 126mm 9speed hubs at?

· Registered
14,776 Posts
He's being cautious

robbyracer said:
Ok just heard back from John @ Neuvation.

No dice.... Stretching out an alloy frame = dangerous. I guess even if it's a couple mm.

Bummer.
He's taking legal advice. Actually "stretching" an aluminum frame, in the sense of bending the tubes so they STAY at the new setting, is not advisable. That's what they call "cold setting," and it's okay with steel, but aluminum doesn't like it.