Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a total novice (which will explain alot in a minute) to bike tech and such, I picked up a Ironman Centurion today and started to tear into, being that it needed a serious cleaning, and go to the crank. I noticed it was not the normal crank thus not fitting my standard crank arm removal tool. Being the impatient/jerry rigger that I am, I decided to find something to use to try and get the crank off. I am came across my magnetic multi head screw driver and thought that one of the large phillips adapters would work well. How ever next thing I know I had shoved the little phillips tip all the way into the internally threaded axle in the bottom bracket. Needless to say I can not fathom a way that it is coming out. I guess my question is, what should I do now. Is the bike ruined? By that I mean the I dont really want to spend the money trying to remove and replace the crank and bottom brackets and have them installed. So since I cannot thread the crank arm bolt back on being that there is a foreign object in the way now :D I am assuming it is a bad idea to just ride it and hope that the crank arm doesnt fall apart. What about tack welding the crank arm the the axle since I dont ever plan on changin the biopace crank.

·
Roadbikereview member
192 Posts
If your bottom bracket axle is hollow use a thin punch on the non-drive side to punch it out. Good luck

·
fun2none
130 Posts
Try using a magnet to extract it.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I will check to see if its hollow, its sorta wedged in there, so a magnet or pliers wont work.

If its not hollow, what does everyone think about the welding idea?

·
Registered
2,486 Posts