Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On high intensity intervals or hill repeats or sprint workouts, what is everyone doing? Anyone want to chime in on their particular training specifics? I am just getting started with seriously trying, with some intellegence, to incorporate 'speed-work" into my training and when I read the training books (just started doing that two seasons ago) I find em a bit hard to follow. All those numbers and tables and pie-shaped diagrams

I've 'sucked' forever on climbs so I want to improve. The latest plan is to work more intense intervals into my program. I've done plenty of base miles, about 250-300 miles per week all winter down in California, with an average climbing total of about 15,000' per week. So, I've not been lazy overall, just 'doggin-it' up some of the climbs at below my LT. I've encountered some 'over-training' symptoms described by Friel and the boys, so now I want to get a feel for what other riders mean when they say they're doing hill repeats or intervals. I'd like to not mess up the rest of my summer by over training and having to back way off to recover, right when the most races are on..

Since the race season started here in the Northwest, I've been getting in about 2-3 hours a day, six days a week, with two of the days being max intensity..(either a 4 or 5 hr club training ride, hanging by a thread with some of my younger teammates or doing a race) and two of the days being 'hard" days, where I am into the red zone often chasing or climbing, again, usually with a faster rider or two. I usually get two more days of moderate intensity, or one of them a day of recover/spin, but I have to be careful to not let myself train too much and too hard (I love being on the bike) I have to force myself to take a rest day each week and find it real hard to 'taper" before a race..