Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been riding with my 12 year old Son for the past 3 months or so and I feel we have had a great bonding time as well as teaching my Son about Road Cycling an fitness. My 6 year old son is sad every time I go out because he can't go so it brings up the question of how young can you start them? And do they even make Kid's Road Bikes? I realize that I can't take a 6 year old on a Century ride but when and where do I start?

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
I bought my son a road bike at 8. He was just able to straddle the top tube on a little kids sized Felt (the Z25). It's a small frame with 24 in wheels. He loves the bike. Even went clipless.

·
Baltic Scum
1,826 Posts
A friend of mine got his son started at 13. He bought him a nice entry level Trek1000. Of course, three years later, it collecting dust as its owner is now proudly driving. Oh well.

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
MarshallH1987 said:
just do it? or get one of those bikes that attaches to your seat so you can go at your speed.
My son that is 6 is already riding bikes... He was off training wheels before his 3rd birthday. Both my boys were. :) We will ride together and get a Yogurt or something like that that is probably like a 4 mile round trip or so but he is on a BMX bike... He rides ramps etc on his BMX bike but is still to small for a Road bike.. I am just wondering when to introduce him to road riding... He is in that kinda in between stage where I am not sure what to do...

·
Registered
120 Posts
my son is 8
he rides a giant ocr xs w/ 700c wheels
the bike is just a tad to big for him, but it will be with him for a few yrs

he's up to 30miles on a outing ...

·
Banned
605 Posts