Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well. I am a super newb to road cyling, and I do have stupid questions to ask.

Anyways, so what do we wear exactly for road cycling?

Look at this guy - https://www.descantes.com/2005/Nationals/Sunday/Men/images/IMG_8507.jpg

Fierce, isn't he? Well I know he is wearing a short-sleeve jersey and lycra shorts.
I got that checked. BUT, what else is he wearing? Can we wear regular boxer's under lycra shorts? Do we wear a under shirt under the short-sleeve jersey, or do we just wear the short-sleeve jersey alone?

So if anyone can help answer these questions, it will be very appreciated.

Also, if anyone would like, give me a list what to wear exactly, so I can wear as good as this guy. Thanks.

·
Registered
656 Posts
dude, you're worrying too much about fitting in. I understand, since you're a young teen, but you honestly just need to wear whatever you feel like wearing. Try some clothes on, see what feels comfortable, and go from there.

And as already said, nothing under the lycra.

·
Registered
103 Posts
It's worth the money to get good quality (not nesasaraly expensive) shorts and shoes. Cycling shoes should fit a little tighter (but not unconfortable) that walking shoes. The shorts should have a good chamois. Your LBS should be able to help with with choosing the right stuff.

·
Two scoops of inertia.
530 Posts
my shorts aren't the most opaque so rather than show myself to the world i wear "cycling briefs" i find at target. I am a proponent of "Put more lycra under your lycra."

·
Registered
960 Posts
When I was a teen and racing mt. bikes...
we'd wear cycling shoes, and a pair of lycra shorts... (this was pre-baggies)
and a t-shirt of your favorite punk band... It's amazing how the Dead Kennedy's can motivate you on a long climb...

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
BoootyHoIe said:

Look at this guy - https://www.descantes.com/2005/Nationals/Sunday/Men/images/IMG_8507.jpg