Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Truthfully, I am not a beginner. I have owned my measly Trek 1.1 since the summer of 2010, and I have put on a little over a thousand miles on it (rough estimate). Although, last summer I rode maybe 100 miles due to back injuries and resulting physical therapy. Just as I was getting back into the swing of things with mountain biking season, I took a nasty spill off a jump and ended up with a concussion.

So there's my predicament. In spite of everything, I haven't given up. I started road biking after my accident, and so far I've road about 200 miles in the past month. It's not great, but it's a start.

Here a few questions I have for this outstanding bicycling community.

1) They say the engine (me) is more important than the car (the bike). Should I worry more about getting myself back up to shape rather than making upgrades to my bike? (Note that I'm currently riding on a 2010 Trek 1.1, the only upgrade on it is Continental GP 4000S tires). Am I better off keeping this bike and making small changes to it, or just buying a whole new one?

2) How should I ride? I've read in different articles about using good planning with your weekly rides. Have a few weekday rides spaced out with time to recover, then have a long ride on the weekend, (usually Saturday or Sunday..?). I never understood the concept of when and how long to rest after a ride, etc.. I just go out with the local group whenever I get the chance to.

3) If the answer or suggestion to number 1 is get a new bike, which one? There are so many brands that sport the same components or very similar, and the one thing I know is my bike is heavy compared to the new ones. (Assume I have a budget of $1,500-$2,000).