Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's my situation;
I have been riding for a couple years now, at first primarily as a cross training tool for rowing. My rowing career has now ended, and I would like to try some racing on the bike. I am not someone who is ever going to be a very competitive racer in terms of climbing up in the cats (I am 6'3" and weigh in at a little over 200lbs). I am, however, a very competitive and fit person (8 years of competitive rowing including 3 national titles) and i need something to vent some of my energy towards. Any advice that anyone out there has in terms of what I should look for in the first few races I enter or what I need to do to get ready to race (in terms of paperwork etc, not so much training advice) would be really appreciated.

I appologize in advance if this is all stuff I should have been able to figure out from past threads. I scanned around and couldn't find much that I felt really pinned down my situation.

·
Registered
3,083 Posts
Where are you? Best bets are:

1. Find fast local group ride, get your race-pace chops, ask those folks where to find the local race calendar.
2. Look for local low key twilight/unsanctioned races. Again, a great place to cut your teeth.
3. Once ready to really race, you'll mandatorily start as a Cat 5. You don't need an annual license -- you can buy a one day, usually at the race. Check out www.usacycling.org for the rules, licensing guidelines, and local race calendar (though the USAC calendar is often incomplete).
4. Don't discount yourself. Big dudes who can make big watts can do really well in timetrials and crits... just as you say, not so well in hilly road races. If you are in Colorado, you're probably going to have a tougher time than if you are in Florida.

·
Registered
3,230 Posts