Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read through the links after doing a search but still have a question. My pain is under the knee cap, that is NOT behind it but lower down - just below the knee cap and medial. I have not changed anything on the bike or my shoes. I am doing all indoor trainer work now as I have been since Dec; the only thing that has changed a little is instead of riding to spinervals 11.0 BIG GEAR STRENGTH 1x/wk - I'm now doing it 2x/wk. I have done this for a couple of weeks but it is only in the past three days I have had this pain. I have my doubts that this contributed to the problem but I'm no expert. I elected to not complete my ride today as it hurt right off the bat and after 12 minutes if easy riding it was getting worse so I called it quits and took an Aleve. What do I need to be considering?

·
BrooklynVelo
1,426 Posts
Spintogrin said:
I have read through the links after doing a search but still have a question. My pain is under the knee cap, that is NOT behind it but lower down - just below the knee cap and medial. I have not changed anything on the bike or my shoes. I am doing all indoor trainer work now as I have been since Dec; the only thing that has changed a little is instead of riding to spinervals 11.0 BIG GEAR STRENGTH 1x/wk - I'm now doing it 2x/wk. I have done this for a couple of weeks but it is only in the past three days I have had this pain. I have my doubts that this contributed to the problem but I'm no expert. I elected to not complete my ride today as it hurt right off the bat and after 12 minutes if easy riding it was getting worse so I called it quits and took an Aleve. What do I need to be considering?

Sounds like patellar tendonitis. I had a pretty bad case over the winter from poor weight training. I'd suggest going to a ortho and getting a good exam and a referral to a good physical therapist.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #3