Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there folks, new (kinda) member here. I last posted about 3 years ago seeking informaton on an old road frame I had been given. Anywho, I just got back into road riding, so I figured I would come check out the forums here once again.

I will try to be brief with my story, but I know I can be a bit long winded. I started riding the road (or mean streets of my college town) back in 2003 with my cheapo rigid mtb w/ road slicks. Soon, I decided to try a road bike and found a well preserved 1983 Trek 400 lugged steel road bike. This bike infected me with the speed bug thanks to the skinny tires rolling beneath, but I was turned off by discomfort. Those old, narrow drop bars were less than ergonomic and way too narrow for my broad shoulders. The bike was just a bit rickety too, so I upgraded (sorta) to a mid 80s Cannondale. That bike was incredibly light by my standards and the Shimano 600 drivetrain with indexed downtube shifters was the most flawless drivetrain I had ever seen. It was lightning quick. Despite its nice features, it was plagued by a rough, jittery ride not unheard of from earlier aluminum frame. It also had a similar riding position and comfort level as the Trek, so it made my hands ache which then stressed my lower back as I tried to support my torso and relieve the pressure from my hands.

The next 4 years were characterized by by a departure towards hybrid bikes and rigid mountain bikes w/ slicks. The flat or riser bars were certainly more comfortable for me than drop bars, but I could never get completely comfortable with just one hand position. Even when I had bar ends, I never liked those very much. I did manage to find some comfort in bars that have a lot of back sweep as they canted my wrists more comfortable and I came to really like Ergon brand grips.