Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a first by a newbie here. My LBS carries mainly Giant, Trek, and Specialized bikes. I'm looking at these two models for $2000 v. $1150.

They are currently putting them both together for me in the 58 size. The frame seems to be a good fit, as I tried out a 60 and 58 in a lower end config. The 60 just felt too big, even at 6'4".

What can I expect from these two bikes? How are my upgrade options down the road? How is the resell value of the different frames?

·
Registered
282 Posts
i have the roubaix elite which has the same spec as the tarmac your looking at, for me everything is working fine im not worried about upgrades, maybe a lighter wheelset down the road, maybe a fancier crank but everything is running like clockwork so its on the back burner

i also tried the tarmac elite, great bike great fit and looks cool, you feel every bump in the road though so i chose the roubaix changed the tires to 23c which made it feel racier but it still had great vibration absorbson, i dont know about the allez sport but the 2009 allez elite has been getting really good reviews and is the coolest looking allez yet

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
As always, fit matter most, so if your bike shop is working with you on that issue and you're comfortable on a 58 cm frame, you'll be good to go on either bike.

Both are good choices and have similar geo's, but do have different personalities. Handling will be very similar, but the Allez is going to have a harsher ride while the Tarmac will be smoother. I have the Tarmac Comp (same frameset) and think it offers the best blend of lively ride/ handling and smoothness, but ultimately you'll be the judge when you test ride both.