Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been looking around online to find info on cross bikes and there aren't too many reviews of these bikes because they are new this year I think.

The LBSs near me carry the Specialized Tricross and I liked the bike when I tested it. They don't have the Trek and Cannondale ones in stock but I could get them if I wanted to (I'm near NYC so lots of options if I want them).

This is going to be the first bike purchase for me that involves me paying (i.e. since I was a kid). I like riding and want to join the NYCC for recreation and to get into it. Given that I want varied riding options I figured a tricross bike would be good (and I like the drop bars which you don't get on hybrids usually).

My question is this, should I go with the Sport or Comp models? The Comp has better specs all round, but I'm not sure if for a total noob like me the additional ~$500 is worth it. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Here are links to the bikes at the LBS I'm planning on getting it from (NYCC members get 10% off on the bike =D)

TriCross Comp - http://bicyclehabitat.com/site/itemdetails.cfm?ID=4555&Catalog=1&sort=Price

TriCross Sport - http://bicyclehabitat.com/site/itemdetails.cfm?sort=Price&itemdsn=bicyclehabitat.com_SB2&ID=4629

·
Registered
813 Posts
depends on if you have the $$$. The spec is pretty good on the COMP, and really wouldnt need to upgrade it (unless something breaks) whereas the Sport model isnt going to be as durable of a build.

But because your a newbie and this really is your first bike, i would buy the sport. and if you really enjoy riding it you can upgrade later. Also, you'll still have to buy helmet, gloves, jersey, shoes, pedals etc so save some money on the bike and spend the rest of it on the gear.

i like the looks of that specialized, have fun.

j

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
jeremyb said: