Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone and I want to thank you all in advance for your input and knowledge. I am very new to road biking and actually only road once for about 3 miles as a test.

I have been looking for an entry or maybe a little better than an entry level bike. I rode both of these and would love everyone's feedback.

The comp is $1,200 and has 105 on it and the Sport has Tiagra derailleurs and Sora shifters for $720.

Can anyone tell me about these? I really like the 105 but trying to see if a rookie like me will notice a real difference

Thanks again

·
Registered
165 Posts
Doesn't the sora have thumb shifters?

I'd just get the 105 setup and be done. It's essentially a heavier version of shimanos best stuff.

·
3,494 Posts
The 2011 Specialized bikes will be out very soon, and may even be in stores right now. You might want to take a look at the 2011 Allez with SRAM Apex which should be similar to 105 but slightly cheaper. You could also use the arrival of the 2011 bikes to get a better deal on a 2010 bike. If you plan to have this bike for a while and ride it a lot, I'd stay away from Sora because of the thumb shifters.

More important than the components, though, is to make sure that you get a bike that fits well. You should concentrate on the test rides and fitting advice from the bike shop before starting to worry about the fine details of component selection.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
heffergm said:
Doesn't the sora have thumb shifters?

I'd just get the 105 setup and be done. It's essentially a heavier version of shimanos best stuff.
Yes Sora has thumb shifters and they can't be reached from the drops (like campy). For that reason along, I would suggest going to the comp and 105. Also, the sport is 9 speed and It'll be hard to replace/upgrade parts, since most of the other Shimanos other are 10 speed.

·
Registered
1,119 Posts