Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
10,161 Posts
????

Jeepson33s said:
Anyone know this? i am about to get a carbon fork and need to know the length of the headtube. Any help would be excellent
I don't get the question. How could anyone tell you the head tube length without knowing the frame size? Unless you're going to buy a used fork that's been cut down, the steering tubes are all long enough on new forks.

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well my frame size is a 56cm, and i am buying a threaded carbon fork that has a 125mm steerer and just want to know if it will fit. i am new at this threaded thing and i know that its an older technology

· Registered
10,161 Posts
Ok...

Jeepson33s said:
well my frame size is a 56cm, and i am buying a threaded carbon fork that has a 125mm steerer and just want to know if it will fit. i am new at this threaded thing and i know that its an older technology
The short answer is no, it's not long enough.

The next question is does the frame actually use a 1 inch threaded steerer and a quill stem? To figure out the necessary steering tube length, measure from the bottom of the headset to the top of the headset, if it's a threaded type.

If it's a threadless type, then you have to measure further up, to the top of the stem.

Check out this site for more help.

http://www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=111

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
its a quill stem. would i just be better off going to a threadless and getting a headset and stem, would i be doing anything worthwile? i have an aluminum or chromolly fork and its brutal but the frame is so smooth and tracks well so i think that the weak link is in the fork. any insight would be great.

· Registered
10,161 Posts
go threadless...