Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a Specialized Hardrock GX for $60, its in pretty good condition but currently not riding. I was thinking about making it a single speed and putting some slicks on there. Ill use it mainly for commuting, about 10 miles each way. My questions are how much would this cost me? Is it something i could do myself or would i best off taking it to my local bike shop? Im fairly new at this and have little to no clue. But I dont want to be ripped off. I really like the looks of the bike and the idea of a low maintenance bike and ive heard decent things about the bike as well. Just looking to get a general picture if not more.

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank You.

·
Premium Member
20,473 Posts
Steve Zissou said:
I recently bought a Specialized Hardrock GX for $60, its in pretty good condition but currently not riding. I was thinking about making it a single speed and putting some slicks on there. Ill use it mainly for commuting, about 10 miles each way. My questions are how much would this cost me? Is it something i could do myself or would i best off taking it to my local bike shop? Im fairly new at this and have little to no clue. But I dont want to be ripped off. I really like the looks of the bike and the idea of a low maintenance bike and ive heard decent things about the bike as well. Just looking to get a general picture if not more.

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank You.

With the single speed conversion kit from Nashbar or Performance bike and some short stack chainring bolt(allows one ring up from), you can spend as little as $30-$35 for the conversion.

·
huvia ja hyötyä
572 Posts
You'll need to be able to remove the rear cassette (is the bike new enough to use cassette cogs) and the extra chainrings. Adding a new chainring and chain would also be a good idea if the current parts are worn.

·
Registered
70 Posts