Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Specialized Sequoia Opinions?

I'm shopping for my first road bike (mainly for commute, casual touring). A local bike shop has a couple 2008 Specialized Sequoias marked down to $650. It seems like a nice deal to me, but I'm brand new at this...what do I know...so I thought I'd ask the experts. Is $650 fair? Does anyone have any experience with this bike? I don't need anything that will win races, but would still like to be able to get cruising at a good clip if I feel like it.
Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
170 Posts
I had one of the earlier ones, when they were more touring oriented, and liked it a lot. Just looked at the spec on the '07 models (couldn't find an '08), and it looks less user-friendly to me. The standard tires are 23mm, for instance, which are pretty small for anybody over about 160 pounds. If you're a largish rider, I'd check for clearance for bigger tires. The 30t granny gear isn't very impressive (in my opinion a granny should offer a hyper-low gear, a 24 or 26), but that's standard these days. Components on the '07 were a mix of Sora and Tiagra, and the list price was $770 (it probably went up for '08). It's a perfectly acceptable bike for the kind of riding you've described, and I like Specialized generally. You might see if they'll come down on the price a little, but $650 doesn't sound bad.

·
Registered
7 Posts
The Sequoia has the most upright position of Specialized's road bikes. Depending on your age, physical condition, etc. it could be very comfortable, but you will not have as aerodynamic position as some of their other bikes. At that price point, I would also try an Allez as well which has similar specs, but a different frame geometry.