Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The directions for the cheapo speedometer I have doesn't give any direction about where on the spoke I should place the magnet. is there a distance from the center hub that it should be at? Also based on the directions it told me to use the diameter in mm * 3.1416 to find my calculation for the speedo. I have a 2013 Specialized Allez with DT Axis 1.0 wheels and 700 23C tires. I used a calculation of 2097 for the input in the speedo. Am I way off base here? Sorry for the stupid question. I am new to this stuff. TIA

Gibs

·
Recycle King
870 Posts
It doesn't matter where on the spoke you place the magnet. What does matter is the distance gap between the magnet and the sensor which read it. I think most computer requires 1 to 2 cm gap give or take. The instruction should tell you what is the recommended gap. As to the circumference to enter, the instruction should have a table guide. Just enter the number for the 700cc x 23 tire. For example, for my cateye, I would type 2096 for a 700cc x 23 tire.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you. I had read that but wasnt sure about the magnet. Mine is 5mm's and has no issue picking up the signal. I think I will change it to the 2096 that you posted. The reason I started to question was that the speed I had on it and my GPS were different and the only variable would be the number. Thank you for the inputs.

Gib

·
Registered
2,597 Posts
Not only that, but another thing to think about is the MPH. Most computers come calibrated to kilometers per hour. Make sure and change that to miles if that's what you want.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts