Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking of trying Speedplay pedals but have a few questions.

1. On the light action I have read that they are vary easy to accidentaly come out off. Looking to hear any comments on this.

2. On the X5 pedals how does it feel standing up and peddeling with all that float.

3. Also looking for any other info or suggestion on Speedplay pedals.

THX: thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
I just ordered some of the Light Action steels because I heard that the Zeros are really tough to get in and out of. I have really bad knees and the Look Keos were way to much for me to get out of and did not have enough float either. Another thing to think of is that the Speedplay pedals come in four different spindle lenghts. I'll keep you posted after I get mine and test them out a little bit.

·
Registered
3,126 Posts
I'm new to the Zero's, they release like any other but may be a bit stiffer than a modest-tight Look. Getting in...I'm getting the hang of but it does require a bit of finesse for me at this point. Some times it's easy, other times I have to putz at it.

Trying to get in, I've managed to rub the paint away on the chro-mo version. Some say it rusts easy. I also have the stainless version on another bike, no worries about rubbing the spindle on that one.

I like the non-centering float! Just what my sports ortho said they were.

·
haole from the mainland
5,966 Posts
I have the X2s. Went with Speedplay because I have a bum knee; in my case, the non-centering float helps. With my previous pedals (SPDs) my knee would often be very sore after only a 25 mile ride.

Another thing I really, really like about these pedals is how easy they are to unclip from. Effortless. I tried a pair of SPD-SL (road pedal) and the torque required at even the lowest setting hurt my kneed. And I've never unclipped accidentally.