Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road biking (got a scatantte CFR over holiday) and is considering a time impact pedal or Speedplay Zero. I've been using my old shiman SPD on the road bike but its too flimsy (accidently releases and difficult to clip in due to small platform).

I read reviews on both of the speedplay and time and they are both positive? Can't decide? any suggestion for a newbie who want to get started with road bike cleats? :confused:

·
Juanmoretime
2,203 Posts
Best case scenerio.

If you have a couple of riding friends who have the pedals and wear simular size shoes, ask them if you can try the pedals. Posting this here all you are going to get is everyone's opinion of their favorite pedal. BTW I've been riding Speedplays since 1991. Do I need to say more?

·
BS the DC
1,422 Posts
I have both Speedplay and Time.

Speedplay is the hands down light weight winner. It's nice that it is double sided. It offers ample rotation. It's not as easy to clip into as I originally expected and I do get occasional unexpected releases from the pedal.

Time is a bit heavier. It's one sided. It offers rotation and a little lateral glide which is real nice. It is easier to get into than I expected and I have never had an unexpected release.

My vote goes to Time. It's a little heavier, but a better peddle.

·
ride-a-holic
288 Posts
Speedplay

I agree with Juan on this asking questions is good but usually only leads to others opinions.It would be nice to try them out.
I have tried just about every pedal out there and settled on speedplay X-2's great pedal,will not go to anything else other than another set of speedplay's

·
Skinny Legged XC MTB geek
80 Posts
Speedplay