Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Serotta User
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just looking at ways of cutting down weight off my road bike and noticed these Speddplay X1 Ti pedals were quite light at 150g/pair. I also read reviews that say this $250+ pedal is quite good (4.35/5 stars). But I was wondering, with the combined weight of the cleat (110g!!) would that make it worth the money. What is the best pedal AND cleat combo out there in terms of weight and cost (and performance). Any thoughts?

·
Banned
1,843 Posts
I've been using speedplays since 1998. I started w/ x3's, then moved on to the x2 and x1. I dont know that I would want to switch to anything else, as I had problems w/ fixed and variable float pedals- the free float works for me- and I've never had a problem clicking into the pedals. I love them.
Other people compare them to pedaling on hockey skates- they cant get used to the free float.
M2racer has a lighter pedal out now as well- you might want to look into that one as it weighs less, costs about the same.
I find pedals to be much like saddles- it's a very, very personal choice. At least you know if you buy them and dont like them, there's quite the resale market!

·
Registered
291 Posts
If you subscribe to the theory that every little bit adds up and you can afford it then go for it. Otherwise they don't perform any better than the x2s. I've been using Speedplays about as long as Mdeth1313 and can give them equally glowing reviews.

One thing to note is that Speedplay states a rider weight limit on the x1s of 185lbs.

·
Juanmoretime
2,203 Posts
jeff262 said:
If you subscribe to the theory that every little bit adds up and you can afford it then go for it. Otherwise they don't perform any better than the x2s. I've been using Speedplays about as long as Mdeth1313 and can give them equally glowing reviews.

One thing to note is that Speedplay states a rider weight limit on the x1s of 185lbs.