Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How often have you been applying the SailKote lube on cleats/pedals ?
Trying to decide if it is worth the expense vs much cheaper PTFE lubes.

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
I have been riding X2 pedals for almost 20 years. If the cleats get muddy from a misplaced step, I spray them with WD40. Outside of that, I don't lube the cleat at all.

If they are making noise, then check to make sure all the screws are tight and hit them with some lube.

But, I wouldn't spend extra money on "special" cleat lube. I don't like the wax lubes b/c of black crud transfer from it to everything it touches.

·
A wheelist
11,324 Posts
One of the SRAM travelling tech reps used to advocate SailKote for their derailer cables about 15 years ago. I never did get any as I couldn't find it.

I'm like Crit Boy - I use WD-40 on my Zero cleats and never clean or lube them any other way. I just replaced them late last year after about 12-15000 miles of use. They never gave me an entry or release problem.

I always thought Speedplay cleats would be quite finicky but I was wrong. Oh sure I don't go stomping through mud in them..............

·
Registered
7,161 Posts
Sail Kote is very good, but I can't say how other dry lubes would compare. I use it on cleats/pedals to prevent squeaking and maintain in/out force, though I don't use Speedplay. One might say it repels rather than attracts dirt like wet lubes can. It's also really good on some types of cables.

·
Registered
734 Posts
When you have a can on hand because you use it for sailing stuff, use it for cleats and cables. It's absolutely incredible stuff. But if you've no other reason to own a can, there are other cheaper formulations that do the same thing only slightly less well. Elmer's Dry-Slide is a good one. There's a Super Lube near-equivalent that's good too.

·
Registered
192 Posts