Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Parked Car Magnet
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am kinda new to road biking, and I have heard of a technique called "spinning".
Can someone breakdown this terminology, and maybe add some information on proper pedalling techniques?
Thanks to all in advance.

· scruffy nerf herder
4,484 Posts
ha.

well, its not really a technique, rather a style. Its the style of turning lighter gears at higher rpms vs putting out more effort pushing a heavier gear at lower rpms to maintain the same speed. This has been around forever, but Lance Armstrong made this quite popular, especially when compared to his main rival Jan Ullrich who was quite the masher.

Its really a question of why you would choose this as you riding type. Im going to suggest that you take a look at your terrain to justify whether or not this will be a very beneficial "style" for you to adapt. Spinning... is arguably more efficient when climbing as it "taxes" aerobic systems more than anaerobic. RPMs for spinning, I will estimate will turn average RPMS in excess of 90-100.

So... there are things you can do to improve your pedal technique overall... like by riding fixed, or by doing single leg drills on your trainer... but honestly... its really just using a lighter gear and pedaling faster... I would truly suggest that you validate your fit is correct because just as mashing too much with an improper setup could cause quite serious injuries, spinning with improper positions will very quickly exacerbate any issues you may have, especially with knees.

Hope this helps.

· Parked Car Magnet
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
funknuggets said:
...style of turning lighter gears at higher rpms vs putting out more effort pushing a heavier gear at lower rpms to maintain the same speed. RPMs for spinning, I will estimate will turn average RPMS in excess of 90-100.
Hope this helps.