Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
your god hates me
1,602 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just bought a brand new Cannondale Synapse Carbon 2, and it comes with these ENORMOUS spoke reflectors that just look completely wrong on such a sleek road bike. They're like 8" long, with these big ugly white plastic brackets at either end that clamp down around the spokes. Totally hideous. I took them off as soon as I got the bike home.

My wife of course thinks I'm suicidal. To appease her (and because as a nighttime car driver I can appreciate the value of reflectors mounted on bike wheels) I tried to move the small, reasonably unobtrusive spoke reflectors from my 11 year old hybrid onto the new Cannondale.

No luck: they don't fit the flat spokes of my new Mavic Ksyrium Elite wheels.

So does anyone know of an aftermarket wheel-mounted reflector that is understated and discreet, and that will fit a flat (aero-blade type) spoke?

Thanks.

·
Registered
4,838 Posts
Tireflys?

It is probably because you have a pretty low spoke count. No one really uses any reflectors anyways on the raod bike.

Bob Ross said:
So I just bought a brand new Cannondale Synapse Carbon 2, and it comes with these ENORMOUS spoke reflectors that just look completely wrong on such a sleek road bike. They're like 8" long, with these big ugly white plastic brackets at either end that clamp down around the spokes. Totally hideous. I took them off as soon as I got the bike home.

My wife of course thinks I'm suicidal. To appease her (and because as a nighttime car driver I can appreciate the value of reflectors mounted on bike wheels) I tried to move the small, reasonably unobtrusive spoke reflectors from my 11 year old hybrid onto the new Cannondale.

No luck: they don't fit the flat spokes of my new Mavic Ksyrium Elite wheels.

So does anyone know of an aftermarket wheel-mounted reflector that is understated and discreet, and that will fit a flat (aero-blade type) spoke?

Thanks.