Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· RoadBikeRider
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I have been running all 6600 on my bike for several years. Finally time for a new cassette and there is not a 12-27 cassette option in 6700 but no problem...SRAM makes one and it is totally compatiable right?

Pull off the old and start putting on the new...without spacer as instructed. Everything stacks fine, the 12 tooth cog catches the splines just right...put on the lockring and start snugging it down. After it is tight there is still lots of play in all the cogs. Maybe I need the spacer after all, even though it is not supposed to be used. With the spacer on I can not get the 12 tooth cog to fit over the freehub splines..the stack is too tall. Remove once again and try without spacer. No go..

I discovered that the SRAM lockring is bottoming out in the threads of the freehub body (which is a 6600 8-10 speed ) I pull the lockring out and discover that it is approximately twice as long (the threaded area) as the Shimano lockring. Maybe I can just use the Shimano lockring...not sure.

Back to the LBS where I purchased it and they were stumped too. Looking inside the threaded end of the freehub body it is obviously not deep enough for the SRAM lockring. They removed the rubber seal ring that sits under the lockring to make more space...still a no go. They think that maybe my freehub body is assembled incorrectly and that the dust cover may not be pressed in all the way. I returned the cassette and went home to investigate further. Besides if it was just the dust cover being out of place, torquing down on the lockring would have surely seated it properly.