Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road cycling, but have just realized the top tube length of my bike might be too short for my torso. My seat is all the way back, with the bars at the lowest, most aggressive position. When I was shopping, the larger size Specialized Allez Elite fits my torso, but not my legs. The top tube length difference is 12mm. So I'm looking to upgrade my 90mm stem to 100mm (or 110mm if I can get away with it).

Anyways, I'm looking for a stem under $150 ($50 preferably), that's compatible with my Allez, have at least two positions to play with, lighter, black, and can handle vibrations better than the current stem that I have. I'm 135lbs and only road biking.

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
178 Posts

·
Registered
10,160 Posts
what angle??

You don't mention the angle of your current stem, but 84 degrees is one of the most popular. Bes sure to get the right handlebar clamp size.

Also, there's nothing wrong with the TT length of your bike. A 90mm stem is an extremely short stem.

Flipping an 84 degree stem up to 96 degrees is not a good way to adjust height. It raises the bars about 2cm, which is a lot. If for example, you want to raise the bars only 1cm, the stem has to be flipped and 1cm of spacer removed from under the stem and placed on top. Don't be tempted to cut the steering tube any shorter until you;ve logged soem serious mileage. Most people graduate to longer and lower positions as they progress.

You don't mention how much spacer is under the stem in it's lowest positon, but stock bikes tend to have the largest posssible amount, usually around 3cm. To lower the bars even more, all you have to is remove the stem and move spacers from below the stem to the top.

Better read up on how to properly adjust the headset, since the stem is what holds the headset bearing pretension.

I'll second the Ritchey WCS stem, it's a good one.

·
Registered