Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Is it the future yet?
1,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 80mm 8 degree rise stem on my bike and want to upgrade it to something a little nicer. It's an Origin8
I'm having trouble finding one.
2 questions...

I've been fitted with this stem, but can find stems with +10 degree rise. Will I notice the 2 degree difference?
Also, what does it mean when they say (i.e.) 84 degrees wouldn't that be straight up? In the pic it looks flat?

· Registered
714 Posts
2 degrees is fairly minor, I wouldn't worry toooooo much about it. Your body can probably adapt; but why not play it safe with a 6 degree drop?

The 84 degrees you mention isn't straight up; it's just a 6 degree rise.

It's the angle of the stem versus the steerer of the fork; for example, an 80 degree stem has ten degrees of rise (90-80= 10).

So compare the angle to 90 and you get the degree difference from straight out.

· Banned
270 Posts
84 is a nice position without looking wierd . Doesn't mean it will fit you . From your lack of knowlege on the topic ( degree of rise etc . ) You don 't sound like a fit fanatic . I doubt you will feel a huge difference . I have 80 on one bike and 84 on another . To make up for the different headtube sizes . There a literally 100 stems to choose from from 80 to 86 degree rise...

· Is it the future yet?
1,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, I think I get it.
I think I might go for a 10 degree. rise. As I don't want to be any more stretched out that I am and wouldn't a shallower rise like a 6, make me more forward?

· duh...
9,749 Posts
DM.Aelis said:
2 degrees is fairly minor, I wouldn't worry toooooo much about it. Your body can probably adapt; but why not play it safe with a 6 degree drop?

The 84 degrees you mention isn't straight up; it's just a 6 degree rise.

It's the angle of the stem versus the steerer of the fork; for example, an 80 degree stem has ten degrees of rise (90-80= 10).